That Old Comic Itch

Pixton_Comic_Addiction_Metaphor_by_Weird_Uncle_Larry

A few blog entries ago, I shared random picture files from my computer.  One of them was a comic strip I had created using Pixton.com.  That random moment of sharing made me re-examine my interest in designing comics, and so I logged back into my Pixton account and started traveling down my old creative pathways.  I left so many comics unfinished.  This was one of them.

Call it karma.  Call it destiny.  Call it luck.  I had created this comic about addiction because I had a friend dealing with a drug addiction back in 2013.  I thought the metaphor of someone drowning in the ocean but refusing any extended hand was apt to describe how addicts went through life.  There is a famous saying about how you cannot help someone who is unwilling to help himself.  I had lived through that, and thought using a comic was a useful way to deal with that struggle.

Now there’s another person in my life addicted to a bad relationship.  That is not my opinion; it is how she described her own relationship with her emotionally abusive husband.  Whenever I extend a hand, she refuses it.  So seeing this comic just sitting in my unpublished projects on a website I had not visited for almost two years, at this moment in time, just called to me.  I finished the comic, obviously, and I want to be very clear with the message.

You are dealing with an addiction.
It is up to you to take the help to get out of a bad situation.
If you continue to choose to stay in your situation, you are not just hurting yourself:

  • You’re hurting your children.
  • You’re hurting your family.
  • You’re hurting me.

In other words… you’re hurting everyone who loves you, whether they know what’s going on or not.

But that is your choice.  Here is mine:  I will still care.  I will still extend my hand.  I will still love.  People question that methodology sometimes.  “You’re just enabling him/her by giving him/her attention while he/she self-destructs.”  You might be right.  But I cannot be the type of person who walks away or ignores the wrongs he sees.  I wish I could.  But perhaps there is a truth about me in that comic too:  I am addicted to being thought of as a “hero.”

If you are struggling with an addiction, whether it be to a drug, relationship, unhealthy habit, or need to be a hero… I hope you accept the help that is being offered.  If you are trying to help an addict… I hope you are granted the patience and serenity to continue offering that help.

I guess sometimes comics are not that funny.

 

 

 

Leave a comment